Criminal Justice Educators Association of New York State

Richard B. Lewis Award

The Richard B. Lewis Award, CJEANYS highest award was created to honor the memory of Dick Lewis, a legendary CJEANYS member who died in 1996 while serving as our president. At the time of his death, Dick was also the department chair of criminal justice at RIT. As a CJEANYS member, Dick held every elected office on the executive board at one point or another. His contributions to the association were significant and many. Recipients of the Lewis Award are presented with an award that recognizes their "Lifetime Dedication and Contributions to Criminal Justice Higher Education in New York State."


1997Richard B. Lewis, Presented to wife Jill Lewis
1998Thomas Lenahan
1999Don Gilbert
2000Gary Gordan
2001Edward Thibault
2002Bruce McBride
2003Terry Hoffman
2004Dave Owens
2005Maureen McLeod
2006John Mockry
2007Richard Hegney
2008Bob Hoff
2009Michael Higginson
2010Ed Qualey
2011Martin Floss
2012Dr. John F. Doherty